Book Review: EASY by Tammara Webber

Genre: NA, Romance, Contemporary

Released on: November 6th, 2012

Pages: 321

Buy the book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depositoryimages

 

Goodreads Summary: 

Rescued by a stranger.
Haunted by a secret
Sometimes, love isn’t easy…

He watched her, but never knew her. Until thanks to a chance encounter, he became her savior…

The attraction between them was undeniable. Yet the past he’d worked so hard to overcome, and the future she’d put so much faith in, threatened to tear them apart.

Only together could they fight the pain and guilt, face the truth – and find the unexpected power of love.

A groundbreaking novel in the New Adult genre, Easy faces one girl’s struggle to regain the trust she’s lost, find the inner strength to fight back against an attacker, and accept the peace she finds in the arms of a secretive boy.

My Review:

This book was a bit of a surprise to read. The first time I heard about this book was when my friend dragged me along to the book signing where I awkwardly fumbled to the author that I had never read her books but wanted her to sign my copy? Yup. That’s how it went down. Yet I promised her that I would read it soon and let her know what I thought. 

Well, Tammara, here it is. 

I enjoyed it, immensely. When I say it was a surprise, I really mean that I didn’t expect this book to tackle on the type of issues that it did. I’ve read books that deal with the rape issue and societies views toward it, but never has a book punched those stereotypes in the face quite the way this book does. And I love it for that!

The greatest aspect to any story are the characters. The main character, Jacqueline, starts off as I would imagine most rape victims do, feeling weak & vulnerable, and quiet about the whole ordeal. But her journey throughout the story, one of finding her own strength and fighting back, realizing she is not to blame, and then confronting her demons, both emotional and physical, was a tear-jerking journey to follow. In the end I was so proud of her, just as our other main character, Lucas, was. 

On the subject of Lucas, I just want to say that I’m so happy he’s not the typical blond hair and blue eyed fellow that falls for our main character. I thank Tammara from the bottom of my heart for giving us a “bad boy” with rough edges, ink on his body, and (holy crap) a lip ring. THANK YOU. Lip rings just do things to me, oi. But seriously, Lucas is not a typical bad boy. In fact, he’s not even really a bad boy?? Yup. He’s not. Lucas has his own set of demons and struggles that seriously had me in tears, literally sobbing. I wanted to hug him so hard and just run my fingers through his hair and then tug on his lip ring to make him smile. Heh. 

The one problem I had with the story was the way in which Jacqueline finds out Lucas’s secret. i’ll try not to spoil anything for you, but just know that she doesn’t find out from him. So, that bothered me a lot more than I thought it would. She even mentions it in the book that she would have preferred to hear it from him because that meant he was letting her in. Finding out the way she did, took away some of the meaning behind their relationship, if that makes sense. So then when he finally tells her personal things about his past, it feels like he’s forced to say them now that she knows, instead of her waiting for Lucas to finally open up and let her in. 

Besides that, I enjoyed this book and all the fight it has in it. Loved the characters, pacing was great – I literally had a hard time putting the book down long enough to take a shower! – and the ending had me bursting from my skin. So adorable. 

MY RATING: 4.5/5

P.S. I am so ready to read BREAKABLE which I hear is supposed to be this story but from Lucas’s POV? Either way, I need it.

Check out BREAKABLE by Tammara Webber: 

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

 

One thought on “Book Review: EASY by Tammara Webber

Leave a Reply

