Book Review: UNDER THE NEVER SKY by Veronica Rossi

Genre: YA,  Sci-Fi, Dystopia, Romance

Released on: January 3rd, 2012

Pages: 374

9780062072030_0_Cover

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary: 

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered.

This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland–known as The Death Shop–are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild–a savage–and her only hope of staying alive. 

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile–everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

My Review: 

First things first, I didn’t like the first few chapters. Not gonna lie. This book is interesting in that it takes a whiiiiiiiiiile to get into. Seriously. I would have had this book finished MONTHS ago when I first bought it, but I just couldn’t get into it and that, in turn, is what made me take forever to read this book. 

But that’s also the funny thing about this book. I actually really enjoyed it. 

So, here’s the trick to this book…(book secrets of the trade 101), you need to power through the first 100 pages or so. You just NEED to. It will be difficult, and I recommend reading other books while reading this one, (just so you don’t get completely bored and put off) and allow yourself to be hooked. After making it almost half-way (an accomplishment I applaud myself for) I finally got hooked! And then I had to stop because I had to get to work which made me mad because I was FINALLY getting into it! Hallelujah the angels were singing! 

Once I was hooked, that was it I finished it in one go because I was enjoying it so much. The characters were interesting in that I loved Aria’s naivety to everything around her. I also loved Perry’s fierceness and determination. I can’t say I connected with Aria, but that’s not because her character is badly written, but because I can’t relate to not knowing what a period is (Ha, you’ll get that once you read the book. I couldn’t stop laughing). So her innocence about everything in the real was what kept me from relating to her on a personal level. But on an emotional level, one where I shared her fears and struggles, I related to her just fine. I did, however, feel a more closeness with Perry. I related more to his knowledge and his “front” that he puts up all the time. I just felt for his character a little more than I did for Aria’s. Still liked them both just fine though. 

Another aspect of the book that I found troublesome was the actual world itself. Rossi does a pretty good job at creating a sense of a new world, one that was corrupted and misused and then turned into what it is in the book, but she wrote about certain things like we were supposed to already know what it was? For example, the Aether is a huuuuge thing in this book. Pretty big to the plot. But I still don’t really know what it is. In my head I equate it to some powerful freak storm? I don’t know. That got annoying though after hearing about it in the book constantly and I just had no clue what it was. 

Overall, it was enjoyable, but only if you don’t mind the first 100 pages…which is tough because they’re kind of important, I guess? I bet it was in those first 100 pages that the author explains what the hell the Aether is. Looks like I’ll have to reread that bit.

But the ending had me hooked enough that I want to read the second book!

MY RATING: 3/5

One thought on “Book Review: UNDER THE NEVER SKY by Veronica Rossi

Leave a Reply

