Book Reivew: THROUGH THE EVER NIGHT by Veronica Rossi

Genre: YA, Sci-fi, Dystopian, Romance

Released on: January 8th, 2013

Pages: 341

51029lYsTgL 

Buy the Book: 

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

It’s been months since Aria learned of her mother’s death. 

Months since Perry became Blood Lord of the Tides, and months since Aria last saw him.

Now Aria and Perry are about to be reunited. It’s a moment they’ve been longing for with countless expectations. And it’s a moment that lives up to all of them. At least, at first. 

Then it slips away. The Tides don’t take kindly to former Dwellers like Aria. And the tribe is swirling out of Perry’s control. With the Aether storms worsening every day, the only remaining hope for peace and safety is the Still Blue. But does this haven truly exist?

Threatened by false friends and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, Can their love survive through the ever night? 

In this second book in her spellbinding Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi combines fantasy and sci-fi elements to create a captivating adventure-and a love story as perilous as it is unforgettable.

My Review:

This book was soooo much better than the first one. Weird how that turns out but it is so true. Right from the start I was enthralled with this book. I was into it, hooked, along for the ride. 

I definitely started to fall more in love with these characters than book one. In book one (which I’ve also reviewed on the blog) I complained that Aria’s naivety toward the Outside was too much for me and I found it hard to relate to her. In this book, she was awesome. She was level headed, knew what had to be done and despite her heart, did it.

My love for Perry should have improved…but it didn’t. He actually lost a few points with me in this book. He just seemed too distraught and anguished by Aria leaving that I lost interest in him real quick. To me, if he loves her and claims to know her in that special way he says he does, then he should know why she left to begin with! Instead he mopes and then almost hooks up with another chick.. really, Perry?! But about third of the way in, he gets a lot better and wins back the points he lost from previous parts.

All other characters, however, do not come close to touching the greatness that is ROAR. I love love love Roar so much. His protectiveness, fierceness, loyalty, and his sarcasm and charm are just too much for me! He is an amazing character and I actually found myself more interested in his story and the relationship/life he had with Liv (turns out there is a novella of their love story so you can be certain I’ll be reading that). I absolutely love Roar and Aria’s relationship. They are so cute and have this closeness that developed over such a short time but it just made sense? They fit together so well, like in a brother/sister kind of way but either way, it is freaking adorable. 

The plot moves forward a loooot in this book. I’m slowly starting to figure out what the heck the Aether is I was so confused about in book one, and its significance. I’m really intrigued by it now! At the very peak of my interest in the Aether and what it can do, the book ends. Gah! But it was a good spot to end it and leave me wanting the next book.

I’m really glad the action picked up in this second book. I’m really glad the characters got better. I’m also really glad that I’m less confused in this second go. Yay! 

Can’t wait to read the conclusion! 

MY RATING: 4/5

Leave a Reply

