Book Review: TEASE by Sophie Jordan

Genre: NA, Romance, Contemporary

Released on: May 27th, 2014

Pages: 320

MedTeaseReveal

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

What happens when a girl who always calls the shots meets a guy who’s too wild for even her?

A born flirt and good-time party girl, Emerson has never had a problem finding a willing guy. She’s always chosen her hookups carefully, and she’s never broken her three cardinal rules:

Never let them see the real you.
Never fall in love.
Always leave them begging for more.

Then Shaw comes along. A hottie from the wrong side of the tracks, he’s immune to her flirtatious banter and come-hither smile. After rescuing her from a disastrous night at a biker bar, he doesn’t even try to take her to bed—he calls her a tease and sends her home instead. Unable to resist a challenge, or forget the sexy, dark-eyed, bad-boy biker, she vows to bring him to his knees.

But instead of making Shaw beg, Emerson finds herself craving him. For the first time in her life, she’s throwing out her rule book. Suddenly, she’s the one panting for a guy she can’t control—a guy who won’t settle for anything less than the real Emerson and who forces her to do things she’s never imagined, including facing a past she thought she’d buried.

A guy who just might leave her wanting more. . . .

My Review:

This book was a typical new adult topic. For some reason, NA authors love to center their stories on the whole “troubled past” and finally facing it. Some people have a problem with the reoccuring theme in NA books.

I, however, do not. 

I enjoyed this book. Yes, I just got done reviewing another book (Easy) with generally the same plot line, but for some reason I don’t get put off by that? Maybe because I can spot the differences and I have no problems differentiating between different NA books. Either way, I really enjoyed Tease.

The chemistry between Emerson and Shaw is on fire. Like muy caliente. Fuego. And the overall relationship was sub par. I won’t lie, I wish there would have been more of an emotional connection between the two; maybe some more heart-to-heart conversations. For example, I would have loved to hear more about Shaw’s family and/or his time in the Marines. With Emerson, I would have loved to hear more about her time with her dad before it changed. And I wanted them to share those things together. But they didn’t. That was a disappointment. 

However, I could see how they changed each other for the better. Both of their personalities worked well together that it forced Emerson to deal with her past, and also forced Shaw to realize he can’t have control over everything. In the bedroom, yes. In Emerson’s life? Not so much. So in that aspect, I thought they fit well together. 

Overall, enjoyable. Wish they would have had more of an emotional connection, but the way they grow together as individuals and in their relationship definitely saved it for me. 

MY RATING: 3.5/5

P.S. I hear Foreplay (the 1st in The Ivy Chronicles) is actually better than Tease? So I’m definitely going to pick that up soon!

Leave a Reply

