Book Review: ON THE FENCE by Kasie West

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Released on: July 1st, 2014

Pages: 304

On-the-Fence

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

She’s a tomboy. He’s the boy next door…

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn’t know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she’s got a bigger problem than speeding tickets-she’s falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Fun, original, and endearing, On the Fence is a romantic comedy about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect.

My Review:

If you’ve read my preview review for Kasie West’s book THE DISTANCE BETWEEN US, then you know how ready I was for more of Kasie West’s books. I wanted to drown in her characters and intense plot lines, and gush at the cuteness of the love interest. 

However, I was slightly disappointed with this book. I mean it was still good, just not as great as DISTANCE was. Let’s get right down to it then.

First off, I couldn’t connect as much to the main character as I did for Caymen. Caymen rocks so much but with Charlie I felt a little disconncted? Her voice in the story seemed very blasé to me, and therefore made it hard to really care about anything she thought/said. Charlie definitely has her strong qualities though… her stubbornness, for one. I did enjoy the run tid bit, the dependency she puts on running and how that keeps her nightmares away – that was nice and made me sympathetic to Charlie’s struggles. 

But I think some of Charlie’s greatest characteristics don’t come in unless she’s with her brothers. I love love love the dynamic between all of them. It felt so real (if you have brothers you can empathize) and whenever Charlie is with them, she just shines as a person to me. It’s beautiful and funny to read her with her brothers. 

But, like I said, on her own, she’s kinda hard to like. This may be something you just have to read the book in order to understand but hopefully I’ve done an acceptable job at explaining it…

Braden (our guy love interest) was nice and all, but I didn’t really pick up on anything special. It could be because I’m comparing him to Xander (love interest from DISTANCE), but Braden just didn’t make my knees weak or make my heart soar, nearly forcing me into cardiac arrest. He lacked a bit of luster. Frankly, the whole relationship between him and Charlie lacked a bit of the luster. 

I mean I enjoyed the scenes where Braden was acting kind of like a jerk because he was jealous and that was cute to see. The reason it was cute was because that was really the only parts in the book where we see some fire in him, some spark of life. Other than that, he just kinda goes by throughout the book. Nothing special. Lack luster. All that jazz.

Overall, not a bad read at all. I did enjoy it. I just expected more.

MY RATING: 3/5

Leave a Reply

