Book Review: THE KISS OF DECEPTION by Mary E. Pearson

Genre: Fantasy, YA, Romance

Released on: July 8th, 2014

Pages: 492

16429619

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

My Review:

This book is a pure gem. Seriously.

I first thought I would hate the main character because, well she sounds a little petty. I mean, really? Running away on your wedding day because you don’t want to be a pawn in your father’s political affairs? I mean, that’s just how things went down back then right?! But despite the tradition, I completely sympathized with the main character. Lia is fierce and blunt, totally honest with her opinions. And that is so beautiful to read in a main female protagonist. Major high fives for Pearson! Surprisingly, I didn’t find myself annoyed with this main character either. Not gonna lie, I expected it. So I was happily surprised when it didn’t happen! Lia is a badass princess who don’t take no sass from anyone.

Then we have our two “love” interests. I say that loosely because there’s really only one but I can’t tell if that’s just my own prejudice coming into play. And I think what makes me love this book even more is the way Peason wrote it out. She switches out between their POVs – from Princess Lia to the Prince to the Assassin. That was so awesome! And what blew my mind was that I was totally fooled on which was the Prince and which was the Assassin. That’s how amazing the author did on their POVs. I thought I had it down and then BOOM, nope, fooled ya! But I thought (besides being an awesome way to portray your characters and different perspectives) it allowed me the chance to get to know the Prince and Assassin as individuals and not just as the Prince and Assassin. That was awesome – probably my favorite part of the book. 

There were some slow parts, not too major though because then it dives into some action. And once you get to the last half of the book you will struggle to put it down, I promise. I nearly lost it once I got to the end (Okay, I lied. I completely lost it.).

I cannot boast this book enough. 

Beautiful, intricate writing style, great plot, complex (majorly complex) and interesting characters, plus excellent world building. What more does a great book need? Oh, the map of course! I referenced the book’s map a lot to get a better sense of distances and where the action was taking place. Obviously not needed, but always nice. I believe all hardcovers have the map on the inside so definitely enjoy that art work! 

All that out of the way… I NEED BOOK 2 ALREADY. That ending was jaw dropping, heart-stopping, and pretty much squeal inducing.

This book goes down as one of my favorite reads of 2014 so far!

MY RATING: 5/5 

Leave a Reply

