Book Review: OPPOSITION by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: YA, Sci-Fi, Romance, Paranormal (pretty much every genre)

Released on: August 5th, 2014

Pages: 354

unnamed

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

Katy knows the world changed the night the Luxen came.

She can’t believe Daemon welcomed his race or stood by as his kind threatened to obliterate every last human and hybrid on Earth. But the lines between good and bad have blurred, and love has become an emotion that could destroy her—could destroy them all.

Daemon will do anything to save those he loves, even if it means betrayal.

They must team with an unlikely enemy if there is any chance of surviving the invasion. But when it quickly becomes impossible to tell friend from foe, and the world is crumbling around them, they may lose everything— even what they cherish most—to ensure the survival of their friends…and mankind.

War has come to Earth. And no matter the outcome, the future will never be the same for those left standing.

Favorite Line: 

“The most beautiful people, ones whose beauty is only rivaled by what is inside of them, are the ones who are quietly unaware of it.” – page 315

My Review:

And here we have it…the last and final book in the Lux series.

My thoughts can be summed up in just a few words: I enjoyed it. But once I finished, I felt incredibly underwhelmed. 

I expected more! I expected the kind of ending like her other books had that basically blew my mind. The ending to this, though very cute and gush worthy, did not blow my mind. 

That aside, I was thoroughly invested in this book, the action and steamy romance was non-stop, something I was very grateful for. The characters that we’ve come to know and love only get better and greater as we finish up the series. At this point, all characters have reached the final peak of their character developments and its really just a matter of closing up the plot line. However, that’s where I also had another issue. 

Where the main idea for solving the problem made sense (maybe too much sense – I don’t know how it took them that long to come up with that solution), I didn’t like how that gave them cause to suddenly not fight. Trying not to say too much without spoilers, but basically, they washed their hands clean of the problem and walked away. Where I guess it would make sense that they walked away (because they weren’t really a match for their enemies), it still bothered me that while the fight continued, they declared “it was over.” Like, um, excuse me, it is far from over.

But because I can understand why they would want to walk away from it, I can easily get over that little bit. 

Towards the end of the book, action picked up a LOT more and so did the waterworks. I loved the switching of POVs more so towards the end because I got a nice and detailed glimpse of Katy’s emotions during pivotal scenes and also how her emotions affected Daemon. It was beautiful to see them working as a dynamic and powerful couple. In books 1-4, it’s really about them learning how to work together and how to best understand the ways they work individually, like learning the inner workings of a car to better understand how it drives. In this last book, we see them implement those learnings and come out as a very strong and badass couple that could literally burn down the world. 

Other characters such as Archer, Dee, Luc, Hunter (who if you’ve read Obsession by JLA – a novellaish book in the Lux/Arum world – then you know all about him), Beth, Dawson, all wonderful characters who had their shining moments in the book. Honestly, my love for all the characters in the series cannot be stressed enough. 

Last but not least, the epilogue. It was cute, gushy, wonderful, squeal inducing, and tear jerking. I think that’s the whole point of epilogues now-a-days. We got a small glimpse into the aftermath of near world domination and the results are perfect. 

Overall, a good read. JLA never lets down with the way she ends a series. However, it didn’t blow my mind the way other Lux books had. My expectations were high and the results were sub par. 

MY RATING: 4/5

Leave a Reply

