Book Review: A MATTER OF FATE by Heather Lyons

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, YA, Romance

Released on: August 25th, 2012

Pages: 543

18493132

 

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Goodreads Summary:

Chloe Lilywhite struggles with all the normal problems of a typical seventeen-year-old high school student. Only, Chloe isn’t a normal teenage girl. She’s a Magical, part of a secret race of beings who influence the universe. More importantly, she’s a Creator, which means Fate mapped out her destiny long ago, from her college choice, to where she will live, to even her job. While her friends and relatives relish their future roles, Chloe resents the lack of say in her life, especially when she learns she’s to be guarded against a vengeful group of beings bent on wiping out her kind. Their number one target? Chloe, of course.

That’s nothing compared to the boy trouble she’s gotten herself into. Because a guy she’s literally dreamed of and loved her entire life, one she never knew truly existed, shows up in her math class, and with him comes a twin brother she finds herself inexplicably drawn to.

Chloe’s once unyielding path now has a lot more choices than she ever thought possible.

My Review:

This book is a mystery to me. I hated it. But I might continue the series. 

Some love triangles work for certain stories, and not for others. Some authors write love triangles beautifully (i.e. Cassie Clare) and others write them horribly (i.e. Heather Lyons). 

I cannot STAND the main character and her indecisiveness toward her “soulmate” and his twin brother. That should have already been a red flag for me when I read the summary, but I had high hopes for the plot. 

And I was right about the plot. I did enjoy the plot line and the world this takes place in is fascinating enough that I want to continue reading the story. But, my god, I will end up rewriting this series so I can write myself in just so I can punch this main character in the face. She’s so frustrating and not in the good kind of way. She sets herself on the path of good and sensible and then literally two lines later she’s changed her mind and she’s doing something stupid. She says MULTIPLE TIMES in her head that being with Jonah’s twin brother is wrong because she’s “in love with Jonah” but continues to make out with, and string along, the cute brother. Ugh. 

It felt like I was reading another bad version of Twilight. 

But the damn storyline sucked me back in… if it’s one thing that saves this book from a complete one star (turns out you can’t give a book zero stars), it will be the plot. I’m curious about what exactly Chloe is and what that means for the people of her world. I’m also curious how that ties in to Jonah and his family (love triangle bullshit aside). But of course, all that is blindsided by the ridiculous notion that this girl needs two love interests. 

So now I’m confliced, put between a rock and a veeery hard place because I hate the main character, I hate the love triangle, but I’m intrigued by the plot?? I still haven’t decided whether or not my curiosity outweights my hate. 

MY RATING: 1.5/5

Leave a Reply

