Book Review: DARE YOU TO by Katie McGarry

Genre: YA, Romance, Contemporary

Released on: April 29th, 2014

Pages: 480

13561164

 

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

“I dare you…” If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs-until the day her uncle swoops in, and Beth finds herself starting over at a school where no one understands her. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does. 

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him. 

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image is risking everything for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

My Review:

Katie McGarry does not disappoint with her books. After reading and absolutely loveing PUSHING THE LIMITS, I was so so pleased with this book and its characters, so complex and intriguing, that I ate this book up in one sitting. 

Honestly, the characters Katie writes are relatable and funny, heartbreaking and complicated, all the things that make them so interesting to read and loveable at the same time. 

Beth is a damn trip. She’s stubborn and strong-headed, but so aggressively loyal. She’s witty and quick tongued but that tongue gets her into so much trouble that I found at times I had to bite my own tongue for her! But I also fell in love with her. Her story brought me to tears and even though I had never experienced the life she had, I was familiar with it and so I empathized with her character a lot. Beth holds a dear place in my heart.

Ryan is a special little nugget. Though it is not important, the fact that he’s a virgin was so adorable. Because despite the fact that he was a virgin, he image screamed anything BUT. That just proves how wrong you can be about a person just based on appearances. I love the way he drew out Beth’s personality and really worked his way into her heart by just being there. Just offering a hand to hold, a shoulder to lean on, a bed to sleep in, he already proved to Beth that he is not what she made him out to be. 

Both of their journeys held so much weight and importance, and I think that’s what I love about Katie McGarry’s stories. She finds a way to intergrate a journey between two characters while also giving them each an individual journey that we are fortunate enough to read about, and a journey that McGarry finds the time to write about. She gives equal time to both journeys and in the end we see how both Beth and Ryan come out as different people, ready to take on the world together. 

Other minor characters that really stood out to me was Scott. Oh dear god, every time Beth had an interaction with her Uncle Scott, my heart broke into tiny little pieces. I understood Beth’s anger so well, but I also felt for Scott’s sadness and the guilt he’s trying to wash away. Right behind Beth and Ryan’s relationship, Beth and Scott’s is a very close second. I wish I could have read more about Beth and Scott before Scott left, and I wish I could have read more interactions between the two when Beth was opening up about the times after he left.

Pacing was great, the love was beautifully written (like falling in love for the first time), and the end result of the book left my heart in stitched up pieces. 

MY RATING: 5/5

Leave a Reply

