Book Review: REBEL BELLE by Rachel Hawkins

***This review was written and presented on Goodreads in April***

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Romance

Released on: April 8th, 2014

Pages: 345

51GV7IgIh6L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Buy the Book: 

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more.

My Review:

This book was a pleasant surprise that had me giggling, gasping, and imagining how on earth it was going to end. 

The characters were so refreshing and new and VERY consistent. Which I think is awesome. Most books you’ll find that characters switch back and forth and do things that are so unlike the character they’re set up to be. Not in Rebel Belle! Everyone has a specific characteristic and they stick to it! Love that. And everyone has their own humor and it is so fresh and hilarious! I wish I could describe just how wonderful the humor is in this book but I seem to blame Southern humor for it. Seriously, the Southern humor is great. Kept me engaged and on my toes! 

The main plot of this book was also something new. Instead of just a simple “girl thrust into a new world where she is a badass protector,” Rebel Belle is a girl literally blown into a world where everything is seemingly normal except for a few anomalies… And instead of treating it as a girl who is so lost and doesn’t know her next move, Harper keeps herself busy. She pretty much reacts the way I would have if I suddenly developed superpowers – which is AWESOME! Right down to the Professor X refrences which had me laughing. Harper is definitely a do-er and not a sit around and wait for help kind of girl.

The ending to the novel really put me on edge! I mean we had this whole build up and set up and then BOOM that ending. Oh god I knew it was coming but to read it and actually know for a fact it happened, just made me scream. 

Like I said, Rebel Belle was a pleasant surprise. I didn’t think I’d enjoy it as much as I did. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that I haven’t really read anything like it, or maybe it’s because I read a contemporary romance the day before so this was a nice change, but either way, it was fantastic. I don’t know for certain if this book is part of a series but my god with that ending, IT BETTER BE. So that being said, I cannot wait for book 2! 

EVERYONE, GO READ THIS AWESOME BOOK. You’ll want in on this goodness.

MY RATING: 5/5

Leave a Reply

