Book Review: ALTERED by Jennifer Rush

***This review was written & posted on Goodreads in April***

Genre: YA, Sci-fi, Romance

Released on: January 1st, 2013

Pages: 352

51E1gP8JodL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Buy the Book: 

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

They were made to forget. But they’ll never forgive.
Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch, at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, solemn and brooding; Cas, light-hearted and playful; Trev, smart and caring; and Sam . . . who’s stolen Anna’s heart.

When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape. Anna’s father pushes her to go with them, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs
On the run, with her father’s warning in her head, Anna begins to doubt everything she thought she knew about herself. She soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away.

My Review:

“They were made to forget. But they’ll never forgive.” 

I really enjoyed this book. The characters are what really drew me in the most (besdies the badass and intriguing plot). I mean, all boys are so different yet so similar in a lot of ways that reading the scences they had together was entertaining and kept me on my toes since I had no idea how they’d react to one another. And each boy wedged their way into my heart with their very different personas. Even Anna was likeable for me. There were times that she was almost too passive and too complacent with being pushed around and shut out by Sam, but I had to remind myself that Anna and I are very different people and we react differently to these situations. Fair. But still. That girl needs to grow some balls or something, my god. 

I honestly feel like a triangle is about to form. It isn’t present in this book but, guys, I’m calling it now… I can feel it. Book 2 will be where it happens. I know book 2 is already out so I gotta get my hands on that and see if I’m right. I’ll keep ya posted. 

Plot wise – bloody brilliant. It’s so interesting and intriguing! I mean these boys are just kept in a lab, isolated from the world and for what reason? And then they escape with the Doctor’s daughter in tow? Oh you know shit is about to go down. I had to know why. And how! 

So, then we get to the last couple chapters and of course, shit hits the fan. I sort of had a feeling about the roll Anna would be playing in this and it was awesome to see that I was right. I have to admit though, I’m not sure if I’m sold on the whole Sam/Anna thing. Not really spoilery because, well, it says they have a little somethin’ somethin’ going on in the description of this book. But the reason I’m not sold is because I’m not sure I like Sam as much as I did in the first couple chapters of the book. In the begining I freaking loved him. Hated him after four chapters. Tolerated him for the middle portion. Loved him for a few more chapters. Then hated him all over again. Ugh. I think it has more to do with not knowing his real feelings toward Anna. And the whole wishy washy thing and the whole (KIND OF SPOILER) sister thing just made it even harder and I wanted to bash his skull in. 

That being said, I’m really interested to see how things go down in book 2. I want to see Sam redeem himself in my eyes by being better with Anna. But at the same time, I want to see Anna bettering herself and being independent. So, book 2 should be a rather interesting read. Either way, this book was a good mysterious read for me. Can’t wait to see where the plot goes next!

MY RATING: 4/5

Leave a Reply

