Fun Fact Friday: TATTOOS

I know it’s a pretty late night fun fact, but it took me a while to decide what to share this week… But here it is.

I learned something very important a few days ago.. it’s about tattoos.

I finally told my mother that on my 20th birthday (December 17th), I plan on getting my first tattoo. Now I’ve been thinking of getting a tattoo since I turned 18, but I wrestled a lot with the placement, and most importantly, what I wanted to get. I talked a lot with my friends, got a few ideas from favorite books I’ve read, then I contemplated my life and whether or not I should get something to reflect my life now.

But that’s when I learned something. Two of my good friends who both have tattoos said something that when I first heard it, I wasn’t really hearing it. At least not until a few weeks ago. They said “your tattoo doesn’t have to mean something.”

So at first I was like “What? Aren’t tattoos supposed to mean something? Something deep and meaningful and awe-inspiring?” Then I thought I wanted to get a tattoo to commemorate the death of my grandpa. But something still didn’t feel right..

I did more research. I looked up other people’s tattoos. I re-read some of my favorite books. Then I had a conversation with one of my favorite authors, Leigh Bardugo, about one of her book symbols. And that’s when it hit me. My tattoo doesn’t have to mean something. It can just be. I love the sun summoner symbol. I love that it comes from my favorite book. I love what it meant to the main character. I love that its actual appearance depends on where people are in the world. And that’s the first tattoo I’m going to get. No, it doesn’t mean anything deep or symbolic to my life. It just is. And I’m going to love it for what it is, even several years down the road.

Because it’s art. And who am I, a writer, to reject any type of art?

tumblr_n4e1msdpv91sqrgldo1_400

Leave a Reply

