This Blogger Takes On NaNoWriMo

Hey, all!

I promise I’m not dead I’ve just been super busy. Lame excuse as far as excuses go, I know. And for that, I am so sorry. I’ve got a couple books I’m currently reading and I am almost done with In The Afterlight, so I’ll have that review sometime this week.

But, as the title of this post suggests, today I’m talking about NaNoWriMo! So, this is the first year I am partaking in NaNoWriMo. And, honestly, I feel like an idiot for doing it this year. I have to be honest with myself, and with you guys, I am super busy this year. I’ve got school, exams, the holidays are coming up, books to read, a blog to maintain, and now I have to make sure I’m writing everyday? Oh boy. But this is a challenge I really want to see through.

I’ve been writing for years now (ever since I was a wee little kid in the 5th grade). Creating stories has always been my passion and now I’m ready to commit to one story idea and see it through. When I came up with my idea for Lost Stars, I knew deep in my bones that this story was the one I wanted to write from page one to the end. *Good time to point out that I have a bad habit of starting a lot of stories and then putting them aside for another one. Anyone else have this problem?*

So when Lost Stars came around, and the characters started to take shape, and the direction of the story started to become something fun and interesting, I knew I had to stick with it. I have my character of Luke to thank for that. He caught me completely by surprise. I do love all my characters (I should – I created them!) but Luke holds a dear spot in my heart. His character started so simple and as I continued to write him in scenes, I started to learn so much about it. His own story came to life and I realized, I want people to know his story! They NEED to know his story! And with that, the rest of my characters also sparked to life. Now I want to do all my characters justice by telling their story.

That’s where NaNoWriMo comes in. I want to use this month to really kick my butt into high gear and get this story out there. Below I will leave the short synopsis I wrote as well as the cover my friend helped me create. It’s super simple – but it’s not like it’s the official cover or anything, and it’s really just to help attract some more attention. Hope you guys find my novel interesting!

Lost Stars Cover

Synopsis:

          Its been five years since Kara Parker had her heart broken by the love of her life. She’s had five years to move on, to go to college out of state, to forget all about her life in West Covina, and the Mitchell Brothers who threw her life for a tailspin ever since they were kids.

But one distraught phone call and one giant unpaid college bill quickly throw reality back into Kara’s face, and she’s forced to come back home to deal with the mess her dad left behind.

Now Kara has to live in the one place she swore never to go back to; the one place convoluted with the memories of her first kiss, her first broken heart, and her dad leaving her with zero reasons or excuses.

As if matters couldn’t get worse, Kara has to deal with the sexual storm that is Luke Mitchell, the brother of the boy she loved. But as several people are warning her, messing around with Luke is messing with a dangerous fire she won’t be able to contain. And there’s a good chance he’ll drag her down with him.

Kara isn’t sure about anything anymore and she’s losing her grip on everything she thought she knew.

But through all the fear and uncertainty is one more beacon of hope, one star left in her sky, the boy she loved and vowed never to trust again.

Will he be enough to guide her back home? Or will the secrets and heartache keep Kara lost and afraid?

That’s it!

Are any of you involved with NaNoWriMo this year? Let me know! And tell me all about your novels! Plus, I’d love to make some more writing buddies 🙂

Feel free to look me up on the site: AlexLivier

Be well,

Alex

One thought on “This Blogger Takes On NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

