Book Review: THE START OF ME AND YOU by Emery Lord

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 384

Released on: March 31st, 2015

22429350

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

Following her pitch-perfect debut Open Road Summer, Emery Lord pens another gorgeous story of best friends, new love, & second chances.

Brimming with heartfelt relationships and authentic high-school dynamicsThe Start of Me and You proves that it’s never too late for second chances.

It’s been a year since it happened—when Paige Hancock’s first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her—the perfect way to convince everyone she’s back to normal. Next: Join a club—simple, it’s high school after all. But when Ryan’s sweet, nerdy cousin, Max, moves to town and recruits Paige for the Quiz Bowl team (of all things!) her perfect plan is thrown for a serious loop. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?

My Review:

Oh. My. God. If I’ve ever read a book that basically encapsulates my life, it would be this book. I felt so much for this character of Paige Hancock. No, I  haven’t lost a boyfriend the way she did, and no, I have not met my very own Max Watson yet. But I have known loss the way Paige has. I’ve known the struggles she has faced. I totally relate to Paige; my god, I AM her. I know most readers like to think they are the main character they are reading (and maybe they really are. I like to think we are all bits and pieces of the characters we read), but I seriously felt like Paige in the book.

All that aside, I absolutely love the friendships Lord creates in her novels. I loved them in Open Road Summer and I loved them even more in The Start. Emery Lord has a really great talent of writing prose that is so simple and yet so meaningful. I can find so much meaning in just a few words she composes together. That’s one of the main reasons I absolutely love the two books Lord has written.

The pacing of the novel was great. Like I said, when you have great side characters like the ones Lord created, they could be talking about how many times they pooped in one day and I’d be so enticed (actually, I’d be enticed regardless). No matter what the characters were up to, I was in it for the long haul. And the beautiful thing is that Emery wrote these friendships to be just that – friendships. They are not side things, or just fleeting people in the background of the story. They ARE the story.

The overall plot of the book, as I’ve explained before, is fantastic. Because I relate so much to this book, why wouldn’t I love the plot? The plot and the characters together are what I latched on to in this novel. In my opinion, this is Emery’s best book so far. You’ll laugh (seriously, there are a LOT of laughable moments – Looking at you, Dr. Pepper Comment. You’ll relate (the friends just reading books at the bookstore scene is literally my life with my best friend). You’ll cry (especially if the events hit you in the same or nearly the same way that it did me). And you’ll fall in love. I still haven’t managed to let this book out of my sight. It sleeps next to my pillow now. I think it has taken up permanent residence there, and I’m okay with that.

MY RATING: 5/5

This picture I got with Emery and LATFOB needs to get printed and framed for me. That being said, I’d probably read anything she wrote. Yup, anything. Even cringe worthy short stories she wrote as a child.

IMG_0974

One thought on “Book Review: THE START OF ME AND YOU by Emery Lord

Leave a Reply

