Book Review: THE FILL-IN BOYFRIEND by Kasie West

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 352

Released on: May 5th, 2015

18660447

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

When Gia Montgomery’s boyfriend, Bradley, dumps her in the parking lot of her high school prom, she has to think fast. After all, she’d been telling her friends about him for months now. This was supposed to be the night she proved he existed. So when she sees a cute guy waiting to pick up his sister, she enlists his help. The task is simple: be her fill-in boyfriendβ€” two hours, zero commitment, a few white lies. After that, she can win back the real Bradley.

The problem is that days after prom, it’s not the real Bradley she’s thinking about, but the stand-in. The one whose name she doesn’t even know. But tracking him down doesn’t mean they’re done faking a relationship. Gia owes him a favor and his sister intends to see that he collects: his ex-girlfriend’s graduation party β€” three hours, zero commitment, a few white lies.

Just when Gia begins to wonder if she could turn her fake boyfriend into a real one, Bradley comes waltzing back into her life, exposing her lie, and threatening to destroy her friendships and her new-found relationship.

My Review:

Let me start by saying that Kasie West never disappoints with her contemporary romance novels. She has a way with her characters that they all feel so REAL and believable in many aspects. It feels like that could be me!

That being said, I loved The Fill-In Boyfriend! It was a different start to the other Kasie West novels (I’m referring to The Distance Between Us and On The Fence here). What makes it so different for me is that we start off with a main character who we don’t automatically like. In her other novels, the main character is this person who is a good person and living her life as best she can and then BOOM, boy walks in. With The Fill-In Boyfriend, we have a girl who, isn’t necessarily bad, but she’s so oblivious and clueless to her surroundings that she, unfortunately, digs herself a cozy little hole she can’t come out from without a little help. It is a fun and different way that Kasie chose to tell this story. And I think the reason why the main character is so clueless to life and doesn’t have this “retrospect” perspective is a BRILLIANT reason. It’s a small detail that is said in quick conversation with a side character, but it stuck with me throughout the entire novel. It explains so much and resonates with me because I feel a lot of people can relate to it.

On to the subject of Hayden. Amazing name, by the way. Oh my god. Seriously, Kasie picks some great names for her main guy characters. Hayden is so wonderful without even trying. He has this strong sense of himself while also being ridiculously flawed. And it takes meeting an equally flawed girl such as Gia to bring him to his senses. It is a beautiful relationship that they develop between the two of them and I absolutely loved them together. Even as just friends.

I wish I could have gotten more with the ending. But that’s just my sappy, romantic side of me speaking. I didn’t want it to end. I wanted to see them as a “couple” some more. But, that’s a good sign of a good book, right? Well done, Kasie!

I think this book actually surpasses The Distance Between Us for me! Which is something because I gush about that book all the time. I think I loved the dynamic between Gia and Hayden in this book more than West’s other novels.

MY RATING: 5/5

Leave a Reply

