Book Review: ALL PLAYED OUT by Cora Carmack

Genre: NA, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 320

Released on: May 12th, 2015

All Played Out by Cora Carmack

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

First person in her family to go to college? CHECK.
Straight A’s? CHECK.
On track to graduate early? CHECK.
Social life? …..yeah, about that….

With just a few weeks until she graduates, Antonella DeLuca’s beginning to worry that maybe she hasn’t had the full college experience. (Okay… Scratch that. She knows she hasn’t had the full college experience).

So Nell does what a smart, dedicated girl like herself does best. She makes a “to do” list of normal college activities.

Item #1? Hook up with a jock.

Rusk University wide receiver Mateo Torres practically wrote the playbook for normal college living. When he’s not on the field, he excels at partying, girls, and more partying. As long as he keeps things light and easy, it’s impossible to get hurt… again. But something about the quiet, shy, sexy-as-hell Nell gets under his skin, and when he learns about her list, he makes it his mission to help her complete it.

Torres is the definition of confident (And sexy. And wild), and he opens up a side of Nell that she’s never known. But as they begin to check off each crazy, exciting, normal item, Nell finds that her frivolous list leads to something more serious than she bargained for. And while Torres is used to taking risks on the field, he has to decide if he’s willing to take the chance when it’s more than just a game.

Together they will have to decide if what they have is just part of the experiment or a chance at something real.

My Review:

I reviewed the first two books in the Rusk series a couple months ago and that’s where I mentioned that I had a favorite from the series, All Lined Up. It was the first book from the series, (not the first Cora book, but still) and it surprised me how much I loved it. But then Nell and Mateo came busting through my door and suddenly all I saw was this book. I absolutely loved it.

Nell is a fantastic main character. She’s smart (she’s girl genius) and but she’s also got this curiosity about her that makes her brave in all the best ways. She knows what she doesn’t want, which maker her quest to find a spark in her life all the more entertaining to read. I might be explaining this all wrong but what I’m trying to say is Nell literally jumps off the page and feels like someone I’ve known all my life.

And Torres. Holy hotness. I mean, hot damn. I’m all about Torres. Seriously. He’s hilarious and snarky but so lovable and adorable. The way he loves is so fiercely and completely. You fall in love with Torres instantly and when you see him and Nell together, it’s love on a whole new level. They become so much more when they’re together. I love them so much.

And the sexy time scenes are so sizzling hot in this book. Whoa. That library scene. Mmm, I gotta find me a boyfriend to reenact that one!

Reading through, I hit the spot just after the halfway point and I knew the trouble was starting. I love the way Cora wrote about Mateo’s insecurities. It was really well done. You get that he’s afraid over what he feels for Nell and yet he’s torn by his past and what a previous “love” had told him. For Nell, it was her freaking out over her feelings because she hadn’t anticipated to feel the things that she does for Mateo. It terrifies her, especially because it doesn’t fit in with her life plan. But the best loves are often unplanned.

If I ever recommend a book series to someone, it HAS to be the Rusk University series. It has a way of making you feel for each of the characters. You love each one differently but still so completely as any of them. You feel for their situations and you grow so attached to them – which is an awesome feat when the book is only 300 or so pages. I always crave more by the time I finish a Rusk novel. As it is, I read All Played Out five times before saying, “Okay, Allie, time to write a review!”

I’m very much ready and excited to read Stella and Ryan’s story next!

MY RATING: 5.5/5 😉

One thought on “Book Review: ALL PLAYED OUT by Cora Carmack

Leave a Reply

