Book Review: THE PACT by Karina Halle

Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Pages: 287

Released on: December 28th, 2014

23844390

Buy the Book:

Amazon

Book Depository

Goodreads Summary:

It all started with a pinky swear…

Linden McGregor is tall, rugged, and gunslinger handsome; a helicopter pilot with a Scottish brogue and charm to spare. He’s also one of Stephanie Robson’s best friends and has fit into that box for as long as she’s known him.

But some relationships can’t be boxed, can’t be classified, can’t be tamed.

Back in their mid-twenties and tired of the competitive hit-or-miss dating scene of San Francisco, Steph and Linden made a pact to marry each other if neither one of them are in a serious relationship by the time they hit thirty.

It sounds like fun and games but as the years to thirty tick past and lovers come and go out of their lives, the pact becomes larger than life.
Sex is inevitable. Friendships are tested. Hearts are on the line.

The pact is about to change everything.

My Review:

Alright, so I’ve given Karina another go. If you’ve been keeping up with my reviews then you know I read and reviewed her book DIRTY ANGELS which you can check out by clicking the title, and I fell in love with that book. You can read all about my thoughts in the review because this review is reserved for an entirely different aura of novel. Did that make sense? I hope so.

THE PACT was just so so good. But it should be noted before anyone dives into this book, it IS a bit cliche. Okay, actually, it is very cliche. But who doesn’t love a good cliche? Especially if the author can pull it off with some well-rounded and awesome characters that half-way into the novel you forget the story is so cliche anyway. Karina Halle is just that good.

I ate up THE PACT so fast that I got mad at myself once I was finished. I should have savored this book a little more! But I was reassured once I looked on Amazon and found more books available regarding the boys and girls introduced in this novel. And, to add to this steamy love pot, dudes with accents. Scottish accents. SWOON. And the latest book coming out? RUGBY DUDES. My, my, is it hot in this review or is it just me?

All kidding aside, I really enjoyed reading this book. There were so many instances where I empathized with the character of Steph. I probably underlined a good majority of this book because the lines and words that were streaming out of Steph and Linden’s head were so real and honest. I felt that shit under my skin. It was awesome. Because, damn it, love is hard. On top of that, love is hard to maintain. Even more on top of that, love is shit hard to find. So I appreciated the struggle and the trails I watched Steph go through. She’s my homie.

So, if you can brave through the fact that you are picking up a book with a rather cliche plot line, I can guarantee you will be pleased once you really get into it. These characters will warm your heart and make you want to pick up pretty much any and all Karina Halle books………I mean, that’s what I did…..Was I not supposed to do that? I’m pretty sure my bank account will yell at me later but I so do not care.

MY RATING: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

